Select Page

If I Never Met You

If I Never Met You

Bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane returns with another heartfelt romantic comedy perfect for fans of Josie Silver, Sophie Kinsella, or Sally Thorne.

One of Shondaland’s 5 Must-Read Books for March!

If faking love is this easy… how do you know when it’s real? 

When her partner of over a decade suddenly ends things, Laurie is left reeling—not only because they work at the same law firm and she has to see him every day. Her once perfect life is in shambles and the thought of dating again in the age of Tinder is nothing short of horrifying. When news of her ex’s pregnant girlfriend hits the office grapevine, taking the humiliation lying down is not an option. Then a chance encounter in a broken-down elevator with the office playboy opens up a new possibility. 

Jamie Carter doesn’t believe in love, but he needs a respectable, steady girlfriend to impress their bosses. Laurie wants a hot new man to give the rumor mill something else to talk about. It’s the perfect proposition: a fauxmance played out on social media, with strategically staged photographs and a specific end date in mind. With the plan hatched, Laurie and Jamie begin to flaunt their new couple status, to the astonishment—and jealousy—of their friends and colleagues. But there’s a fine line between pretending to be in love and actually falling for your charming, handsome fake boyfriend…

About The Author

Mhairi McFarlane

Mhairi was born in Falkirk, Scotland in 1976. She went to school in Nottingham, studied English Literature at Manchester University and then returned to Nottingham to delight its citizens with her journalism. After roles as trainee reporter, reporter, feature writer and columnist, she realised she’d climbed to the very top of the mountain at the Nottingham Post and at age 31 decided to write a novel. Some very skint years followed, during which she thought she might’ve made a huge mistake. Her debut novel, the romantic comedy You Had Me At Hello, was an instant hit upon being published in December 2012. It’s since become HarperCollins’ best selling ebook to date, has been translated into 16 languages and is being developed as a major feature film, with Mhairi writing the screenplay. The follow up, Here’s Looking At You, was published in December 2013 and made the Sunday Times Bestseller list. Mhairi’s first hardback title for HarperFiction, It’s Not Me, It’s You, is published on November 6th 2014. She’s currently working on her fourth novel, adapting You Had Me At Hello for screen and developing a comedy-drama script for television.

Book Release Dates

January 2022

MO
TU
WE
TH
FR
SA
SU
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Events for January

1

No Events
Events for January

2

No Events
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
Events for January

3

No Events
Events for January

4

No Events
Events for January

5

No Events
Events for January

6

No Events
Events for January

7

No Events
Events for January

8

No Events
Events for January

9

No Events
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
Events for January

10

No Events
Events for January

11

No Events
Events for January

12

No Events
Events for January

13

No Events
Events for January

14

No Events
Events for January

15

No Events
Events for January

16

No Events
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
Events for January

17

No Events
Events for January

18

No Events
Events for January

19

No Events
Events for January

20

No Events
Events for January

21

No Events
Events for January

22

No Events
Events for January

23

No Events
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Events for January

24

No Events
Events for January

25

No Events
Events for January

26

No Events
Events for January

27

No Events
Events for January

28

No Events
Events for January

29

No Events
Events for January

30

No Events
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Events for January

31

No Events

Releases Aug 17 2021